Italian Beef Hoagies – how to make your man happy!

My one-year-old has yet to consistently sleep through the night. If you haven’t been there before, there is no way to describe what it is like to have your sleep interrupted for a year straight. It unfortunately sometimes results in me (I pretty much exclusively wake with the baby since my husband works his butt off so I can stay home with the kids) muttering choice words to anyone who crosses my path at 1am – the dog, the cat, my husband. I don’t remember exactly what I said last night, but I did feel the need to make a “sorry I’m a crabby b****” dinner. Here is what I made. Husband loved it, forgot that I was even grumpy last night before he even got home from work. He is a keeper, so is this recipe.

IMG_9470

Ingredients:
2-lb beef boneless arm roast, trimmed
1 onion sliced
1 green pepper sliced
1 can (14.5 oz) Italian-seasoned diced tomatoes (or no salt added diced tomatoes with Italian seasoning added to reduce sodium)
1/4 cup tomato paste
1 packet of Italian dressing mix
6-8 hoagie buns
2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese

Directions:
Add sliced onion and green pepper to your slow cooker. Place your beef on top of the vegetables. Mix tomatoes, tomato paste, and dressing packet in a small bowl, then pour over beef. Cook low for 8-10 hours.
Remove beef from slow cooker, shred, and return to cooker. Spoon beef mixture onto buns. Top with cheese as desired (I actually prefer provolone, I think it stands up better to the tomatoes – if I have cheese, I want to taste it!). Pop the loaded hoagies on a cookie sheet and broil in your oven to melt the cheese (we did sans cheese this time, since I am trying to lose weight – it was still delicious).

IMG_9464

My little guy taking picture for mama's blog.

My little guy taking picture for mama’s blog.

Leave a comment